On the Thursday 2 May 2024, elections are taking place across the Kirklees area.

Photo ID at pollings stations

You will have to show an official form of photo ID when you attend a polling station to vote.

Before the election
Date and time Event
Monday 25 March 2024 Notice of election
Tuesday 26 March 2024 from 10am First day for delivery of nomination papers
Friday 5 April 2024, 4pm Last date for delivery of nomination papers
Monday 8 April 2024, 4pm Statement of persons nominated
Tuesday 16 April 2024, 12 midnight Deadline to register to vote
Wednesday 17 April 2024, 5pm Last date for:
  • receipt of applications to vote by post
  • amending a postal vote
  • cancelling a postal vote
Wednesday 24 April 2024, 5pm Last date:
  • for receipt of applications to vote by proxy
  • to apply for a Voter Authority Certificate (VAC)
Wednesday 24 April 2024 Notice of poll
Polling day, Thursday 2 May 2024
Time Event
7am and 10pm Polling stations open
[Please note that Kirklees Council doesn't own or manage Where do I vote? and we are not responsible for the content of external websites.]
5pm Deadline for us to receive emergency proxy applications
5pm Deadline for us to issue replacement postal ballot papers
District Council election results, Friday 3 May 2024
Time Event
8am onwards The election count begins at 8am and results will be published as they are declared
West Yorkshire Combined Authority Mayoral Election results, Saturday 4 May 2024
Time Event
10am onwards The election count begins at 10am and results will be published as they are declared
Was this information helpful?